CU Promotes Four Senior Faculty to Professorial Cadre

CU Promotes Four Senior Faculty to Professorial Cadre

CU Promotes Four Senior Faculty to Professorial Cadre

A cross section of newly promoted Professors of CU (L-R), Professor A.A.A Atayero (Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic), Associate Professors Samuel A. Oloyede, Solomon Uche Oranusi and Samuel John at their meeting with the CU Management

Covenant University’s apex governing council, the Board of Regents, has approved the promotion of four senior faculty into the professorial cadre of the University. Those promoted are Professor Aderemi Aaron-Anthony Atayero, Dr. John Samuel Ndueso, Dr Samuel Adesiyan Oloyede and Dr. Solomon Uche Oranusi

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles Korede Ayo announced this at the Appointment and Promotion Committee (A and PC) meeting on Tuesday, December 18, 2012. He said their promotions were ratified by the Board of Regents after professorial assessments from the External Assessors had been duly undertaken which validated the earlier prima facie cases established by the University’s Appointment and Promotion Committee.

Professor Aderemi A. Atayero is currently the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic). He is a pioneer staff of the University. He joined the University as a Lecturer II in 2002, in the Department of Electrical and Information Engineering. Professor Atayero was at different times Acting Head, Department of Electrical and Information Engineering, Covenant University and a Lead Researcher, EIE Biometrics Research Cluster. A recipient of Ford Foundation Teaching Innovative Award, 2009/2010 for


Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles K. Ayo (3rdL) with other Members of Management in a group photograph with the newly promoted professors


Demonstrative Innovative Approach to Teaching, Research and Mentoring of Junior Academics, he is a member of many professional bodies including Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE), International Association of Engineers (IAENG), World Academy of Science Engineering and Technology; and International Who’s Who Historical Society. Professor Atayero is a Professor of Communication Engineering, Covenant University.

Dr. John Samuel is the current Head of Department of Electrical and Information Engineering. He joined the University on October 3rd, 2006. He is promoted an Associate Professor of Computer Engineering of Covenant University.

Also promoted Associate professor is Dr. Samuel Adesiyan Oloyede. He joined the University on November 1, 2006. Dr. Oloyede who was the immediate past Head of Department of Estate Management, is currently the Deputy Dean School of Environmental Sciences. He was promoted Associate Professor of Estate Management.

Dr. Solomon Uche Oranusi joined the University on September 29, 2008. Until his promotion, he was a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Biological Sciences. He is now an Associate Professor of Microbiology.

Click here to view photo gallery