Covenant University Inaugurates Committees to Drive Set Goals

Covenant University Inaugurates Committees to Drive Set Goals


In order to effectively drive the innovation, impact and internationalization goals for the current (2014/2015) academic session, the Covenant University Management has constituted and inaugurated various committees.

Some of the committees inaugurated on Wednesday, August 27, 2014 include Faculty Support Programme; Time Table and Examination; Postgraduate School Board; Curriculum Committee; Covenant University Student Work Study Committee; Covenant University Centre for Research, Innovation and Discovery Committee and Committee for Lifelong Learning Programme.

At the inauguration of the Faculty Support Programme Committee, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles Ayo, noted that the importance of the committee can not be over emphasized.

He appreciated the committee members for their excellent performance in the last academic session, which necessitated continuity of their service. He charged them to ensure regular checks for quality service delivery by all the students’ support centres, both within and outside the campus. “What is paramount at this point is the welfare of the students”, he added.

The Vice-Chancellor also enjoined the committee members to entrench the culture of discipline on campus, particularly among the students, and recommend appropriate sanctions where necessary. This, he said, is everyone’s responsibility.

Responding on behalf of the members, the Chairman of the committee, Dr. Zacheus Omogbadegun, appreciated the Management and members of the committee for their immense contributions to its success in the last three academic sessions.

He promised that they would continue to work harder to sustain the trust the Management has in the committee, even as he expressed belief that the committee’s activities would be upgraded to a directorate in the nearest future.

Also at the inauguration of the Covenant University Student Work Study Committee, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ayo, noted that the aim is not about what the students would earn, but to introduce them to the dignity of work. He enjoined them to ensure speedy payment of the students’ benefits.

The Chairman of the Committee, and the Dean, Students’ Affairs, Mr. Azubuike Ezenwoke, promised that the committee would fashion a more robust approach to discharging its assignment in order to record more success this session.

The Registrar, Dr. Olumuyiwa Oludayo, read the Terms of Reference of each committee at the inauguration and wished them success in their assignments. Also at the meeting was the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Taiwo Abioye, and representatives of Media and Corporate Affairs.