Covenant University Promotes 14 Senior Faculty to Professorial Cadre

Covenant University Promotes 14 Senior Faculty to Professorial Cadre

Covenant University Promotes 14 Senior Faculty to Professorial Cadre

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Professor Taiwo Abioye receiving her letter of promotion as a full Professor from the Vice-Chancellor, Covenant University, Professor Charles K. Ayo

Following the recommendation of the Central Appointments and Promotions Committee (A&PC), and the approval of the University Board of Regents, Covenant University has promoted 14 of her senior faculty to the professorial cadre.

Announcing the promotion on Tuesday, October 22, 2013, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Charles Korede Ayo stated that the Board of Regents ratified the promotions after external professorial assessment and validation from highly competent assessors had been duly undertaken.

While corroborating the Vice-Chancellor’s comments, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor AAA. Atayero stated that the 35 Assessors that partook in the exercise commended the approach adopted by the University as credible, transparent and qualitative. He added that out of the 42 assessments, a total of 41 (i.e. 97.62%) came out positive thereby validating the prima facie qualification cases established by the University’s Central A&PC. Of the 35 eminent professors that participated in the assessment exercise, 27 were invited from Federal Universities, Six (6) from State Universities and Two (2) from Private Universities.

Those promoted, according to list read by the Registrar, Mr Olumuyiwa Oludayo, include the current Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Professor Taiwo Olubunmi Abioye, who is appointed a Professor of English Language. Professor Abioye joined the University in October 2005 and was the Head of Department of Languages before her appointment as the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) in October 2012.

Also on the list of full Professorship is Professor Abiodun Matthew Gesinde. The new Professor of Counselling Psychology joined the University in February 2010. He was the immediate past Head of Department of Psychology.

Others on the Associate Professorial cadre are Drs. Ajayi Adesola and Iweala Eze of the Department of Biological Sciences; Drs. Iyoha Francis (current HOD) and Mukoro Oluku of the Department of Accounting and Dr. Nicholas Omoregbe, who is the current HOD of Computer and Information Sciences.

Also in the Associate Professorial cadre are Drs. Ajanaku Kolawole and Inegbenebor Adedayo, current and immediate past HODs of Chemistry respectively. Dr. Gberevbie Daniel (Deputy Dean, School of Social Science), Dr. Innocent Chiluwa (HOD Languages), Dr. Alege Philip (HOD Economics), Dr. Akinyemi Marvel (immediate past HOD, Physics) and Dr. Fagbenle Olabosipo (HOD, Building Technology).

In his congratulatory remark, the Pro-Chancellor, Covenant University, Pastor Abraham Ojeme advised them not to see the promotion as a personal feat, but rather as an act of God. He added that their elevation should serve as an impetus for higher input that will advance the cause of the University and all that she stands for.

Pastor Ojeme committed them to God for further validations in every area of their lives.

Click here for more images