Covenant emerges Best Research Institution in Nigeria!

Covenant emerges Best Research Institution in Nigeria!


For God’s own University, Covenant, it is a fittingly rewarding end to a blessed beginning in the year 2019.

While still offering praises to the Almighty for the multiple honours, awards, and recognitions harvested by Covenant, the University, on Tuesday, December 31, 2019, emerged the best institution in Nigeria on different fronts in the field of research.

According to computations made by SciVal, a web-based analytics solution with unparalleled power and flexibility that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 14,000 research institutions from 230 nations worldwide, Covenant emerged No. 1 among the top 100 Institutions in Nigeria by scholarly output; 90 percent of top Nigerian authors in Computer Science were from Covenant; 90 percent of top 10 Multidisciplinary Nigerian authors were from Covenant; 80 percent of top 10 Nigerian authors in Engineering were from Covenant; and 60 percent of top 10 Nigerian authors in the past 5 years were from Covenant.

No. 1 by Scholarly Output

In the top 100 list of institutions by scholarly output, which involved activities in research, technology, and industry over the period between 2014 and 2019, Covenant, with 39 scholarly output, was a runaway leader, leaving in her trail a host of first and second generation Nigerian universities.

The University of Ibadan (17 scholarly output), University of Nigeria (16 scholarly output), University of Ilorin (8 scholarly output), and Obafemi Awolowo University (7 scholarly output) occupied the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th positions in that order, while Covenant’s sister University, Landmark, placed 7th with 5 scholarly output.

90% of Top 10 Authors in Computer Science

Not less than nine (9) Covenant faculty members made the top 10 list among the top 500 authors by scholarly output in Computer Science over the period 2014 to 2019. Top in the list was Professor Sanjay Misra with 184 scholarly output and 278 citations, followed by Professor AAA. Atayero, with 56 scholarly output and 121 citations. Next was Dr Hilary Okagbue, with 49 scholarly output and 314 citations.

Other Covenant faculty in the top 10 list were Dr Segun Popoola, Dr Adewole Adewumi, Dr Michael Agaranta, Professor Oluseyi Ajayi, Dr Abiodun Opanuga, and Dr. Isaac Fayomi.

90% of Top 10 Multidisciplinary Nigerian Authors

Also, 90 percent of the top 10 among the top 500 multidisciplinary Nigerian authors, by scholarly output, over the period 2014 to 2019 emerged from Covenant, with Dr Hilary Okagbue leading the pack courtesy of his 40 scholarly output and 235 citations. Again, Professor AAA. Atayero was next with 25 scholarly output and 161 citations, while Dr P. E. Oguntunde garnered 25 scholarly output and 170 citations to emerge third.

Others in the top 10 list included Odunayo Salau, Dr Maxwell Olokundun, Dr Hezekiah Falola, Dr Stephen Ibidunni, Dr Olumuyiwa Oludayo, and Dr Segun Popoola,

80% of Top 10 Nigeria Authors in Engineering

Covenant faculty members, with 80 percent presence, dominated the top 10 cut in the top 500 list of Nigerian authors in Engineering, by scholarly output, over the period 2014 to 2019. Dr. Isaac Fayomi, with 85 scholarly output and 264 citations; Professor Oluseyi Ajayi, with 54 scholarly output and 194 citations; and Professor Sanjay Misra, with 52 scholarly output and 78 citations ranked 1st, 2nd, and 3rd respectively.

Dr Moses Emetere (4th), Princess Imhade Okokpujie (5th), Professor Roland Loto (8th), Olushola Afolabi (9th), and Dr Anthony Ede (10th) were other Covenant faculty in the top 10 list.

60% of Top 10 Nigerian Authors in 5 Years

It was noteworthy that Covenant reemphasized her preeminence as the foremost research institution in Nigeria, with the SciVal report stating that 60 percent of top 10 Nigerian authors in the past 5 years were from Covenant.

The Covenant faculty among the top 10 authors included Professor Sanjay Misra, ranked 2nd, with 222 scholarly output and 354 citations; Dr Isaac Fayomi, ranked 4th, with 172 scholarly output and 508 citations; and Dr Moses Emetere, ranked 5th, with 171 scholarly output and 356 citations. Others were Dr Hilary Okagbue (8th), Professor Roland Loto (9th), and the late Professor Cleophas Loto (10th)

To God alone be all the glory!