Covenant News

Covenant University Gets New Academic, Directorate Leaders

There has been a rejig of the management and leadership structure of Covenant University for the new academic session, with Professor Roland Worlu and Dr. Jonathan Odukoya both becoming members of the Deanery of the University. Professor Worlu is now the Dean, College of Management and Social Sciences (CMSS), while Dr. Odukoya is the Dean, College of Leadership Development Studies (CLDS).

The new leadership structure sees Professor Akan Williams remain as the Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies; Professor David Olukanni, Dean, College of Engineering, Professor Timothy Anake, Dean, College of Science and Technology, and Mrs. Shola Coker, continuing in her position as Dean, Student Affairs.

In the directorates of the University, the Centre for Learning Resources sees Dr. Ada Peter continue as the Director of the Centre; Dr. Lanre Amodu will continue as the Director, African Leadership Development Centre; Dr. Ademola Adebanjo, Director, Health Services; Engr. Boladele Akanle, Director, Centre for Systems and Information Services; Dr. Isaac Akinwunmi, Director, International Office and Linkages; Bldr. Oluwatoyin Akinyeoluwa, Director, Physical Planning and Development; Professor Olayinka Ajani will direct the affairs of Covenant University Central Instrumentation Research Facility; and Mr. Gordon Adebayo as Sub-Dean, Student Affairs.

The new faces in the directorates are: Dr. Emmanuel Amoo will oversee the affairs of the Academic Planning Unit; Professor Conrad Omonhinmin, Centre for Research, Innovation, and Discovery; Dr. Charles Onuh will superintend over the Students Industrial Work Experience Scheme office; Dr. Mayowa Agboola, Director, Open Distance Learning; and Dr. Hezekiah Falola, as Sub-Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies.

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Abiodun H. Adebayo, communicated the approval of the Chancellor and Chairman, Board of Regents, Dr. David Oyedepo, of the new appointments to the appointees, noting that it was a call to serve and contribute towards actualising the short- and long-term visions of the University.

Professor Adebayo also conveyed the gratitude of the Chancellor to the immediate past Deans of Colleges, Heads of Departments, and Directors of statutory bodies for serving meritoriously in various capacities in the last two academic sessions and for their meaningful impact in the quest for academic excellence in the University.

Responding, the Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies, Professor Akan Williams, appreciated the Chancellor for the privilege to serve. According to him, leadership is about contribution, focus, and sacrifice, and these are the features that the new management team will be bringing to bear on the assignment of raising a new generation of leaders.

Professor Williams also appreciated the Vice-Chancellor for having recommended everyone who made the leadership structure and assured him of working with continuous support in delivering on the mission and vision of the University.

Also, 19 new Heads of Departments were appointed to run the affairs of the various departments and programmes of the University.

© 2024 Covenant University.